It’s Kind of a Funny Story

190px-Funny_Story_front

Title: It’s Kind of a Funny Story
Author: Ned Vizzini
Year published: 2006

Extra info: It’s Kind of a Funny Story is a 2006 novel by American author Ned Vizzini.The book was inspired by Vizzini’s own brief hospitalization for depression in November 2004. The book received recognition as a 2007 Best Book for Young Adults from the American Library Association.

A film adaptation, directed by Ryan Fleck and Anna Boden, was released in the United States on October 8, 2010.

Summary: Craig, the narrator, is 15, and lives with his family in an upper-middle class Brooklyn neighborhood. He attends the prestigious Executive Pre-Professional High School, having studied arduously to win admission. Once admitted, however, he becomes overwhelmed by the school’s intense academic pressure. His stress eventually manifests itself in an eating disorder, use of pot, affected sleep habits, and suicidal thoughts. After he stops taking medication prescribed by his psychiatrist, his depression builds until, unable to fend off his suicidal ideation, he calls 1-800-SUICIDE and is admitted to a nearby psychiatric hospital. He meets many other patients, some friendly, others reclusive or delusional, and is supported and encouraged by his family and school principal once they learn of his hospitalization. Craig meets a female patient, Noelle, who coped with a history of sexual abuse by cutting her face with scissors. In isolation from the outside world, and with help from Noelle, Craig confronts the sources of his anxiety and regains his health. During his recovery, Craig experiments with art, specifically stylized human figure maps, and discovers he has a great deal of natural talent and ability. Once Craig has recovered, his counselor suggests he transfer to an art school, a thought that excites Craig. He returns home at novel’s end having undergone a mental shift.

My opinion: I really liked the book because I could relate to it pretty easily. I also liked that it was an easier book to read. You just started reading it and you didn’t even notice when you had finished with 50 pages.

I could really understand the way his mind works. I saw a lot of similarities which is probably a sad thing. I started reading this book on the right time though, it was exactly something that would get me back on track and back to my reading habits. I really think I should get the book.

I really recommend this book to everyone who is going through a lot of shit because it kinda gives another perspective to stuff. Of course if you’re just curious about the book then go ahead and read it, it’s a good time spender. A book definitely worth reading.

Quotes/Words/Phrases: The Shift – The shift happens when your mind gets back to normal and you get out of your depression.
The Cycling – Going over the same thoughts over and over. When thoughts race against each other in a circle.The Tentacles – Evil tasks that invaded his life and made him depressed (very stressful stuff).
The Anchors – Things that occupied his mind and made him feel good temporarily.

I hope you liked this book review. I tried not to get too personal with it because it would have become a bit too emotional and there are still some stuff that need to be a secret but I’m hoping for the best.

I guess I’m still waiting for my Shift to happen. . .

Ann