I’m going to start with the introduction with this new category in my blog. It’s called Wolfing reads and I’m going to do book reviews in here. There’s no reason why I chose this book to be the first one because I’ve actually wanted to start this for a while.

Title: “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”
Author: Stephen Chbosky
Publisher: MTV Books/Pocket Books, 1999

“The Perks of Being a Wallflower” is a coming-of-age epistolary novel written by American novelist Stephen Chbosky, which has spent over a year on the New York Times Bestseller list and is published in 31 languages. It was first published on February 1, 1999, by MTV. The story is narrated by an introverted teenager who goes by the alias of “Charlie”. He describes various life experiences through a series of letters to an anonymous stranger. In 2012, Chbosky, acting as director, adapted the novel into a film, which starred Logan Lerman, Ezra Miller, and Emma Watson.

Set in the early 1990s, the story follows Charlie through his freshman year of high school in a Pittsburgh suburb. Charlie is the eponymous wallflower of the novel. Intelligent beyond his years, he is an unconventional thinker; yet, as the story begins, Charlie is also shy and unpopular.

I really liked the book. I like books which are different. I liked the feeling that the narrator was my friend. I like books where I can be a part of the book and for a weird reason I like books where something is fucked up. Either the mind of the narrator or the plot or just the characters in the story. I’m tired of the typical books which everyone can publish these days but this isn’t one of them. I wish that I had read this book earlier. I know I like the book when I start feeling like the main character of the book, when I start thinking like they did. This book was one of the few ones. After reading a good book like this it’s hard to take another book in your hands which most probably is one of those mainstream books which are only good for entertainment.

For me a good book has to make me think about serious stuff and which touches me in so many different levels that it’s even hard to write down. Probably after a few hours I’ll find something else to say about this book but right now this is my opinion.

-Ann

