So today’s post will be another post on a serious topic, I’ve been thinking about it for a while and it’s not that I’d hate school and then I’m looking for an excuse for it, I actually like school and I don’t mind studying nor the company. I just think there are some major flaws in the current curriculums. Right now I’m going to talk about my own experience and then I’m going to prove my statements with statistics. I think that someone needs to open the eyes of all of us, even if 1 or 2 people read this post the message will still be passed on. I’m sure more and more people are talking about it but it’s still just people, it never gets to the wider audience and public discussions which I think are needed in this case. I can’t say that people are not talking about it, they are, but I think there needs to be more, it needs to be discussed more. I’d actually say that this topic can be more important than some of the latest news about Ukraine just because wars come and go but suicide rates, teen depression and also stress related to school, which can and probably will lead to depression are rising, those numbers are currently rising(Click the link for proof: http://www.bbc.com/news/health-29060238) and if they keep rising there might not be people who cause the wars anyways. Yes, I know it’s a bit too harsh to say but it kinda is the truth.

I actually wrote my own post about depression  and I’m still a bit hesitant about keeping it up there but I can say it started of because I was so stressed about school, doing well there, not disappointing myself, my parents and the teachers. It was also because I’m having self-esteem issues and anxiety (which mostly is caused by school related stuff). I also have some of those stuff happening to me right now when, even the thought of exams and the entrance tests makes me anxious and makes me feel like I’m going to fail and that is just because of the stories I’ve heard and not starting the year with the results I wanted to. I can also see that I’m not even the worst explanation, every other night I have to convince one of my choir mates that she is not worthless and she will get through with it, you can even see that she’s in a really dark place but she’s not getting proper help (which in my opinion most teenagers should have).

Now for the scary numbers (I shall link to the sources at the end of each paragraph)

  1. One in five teens qualify as clinically depressed: According to Mental Health America’s estimates, 20% of teens are clinically depressed, and the real tragedy lies with how their parents and teachers approach the subject. Because so many dismiss the symptoms of depression as mere adolescent adjustments, a disconcerting number of these teens go without the treatment they need to enjoy a healthy, happy life. Obviously, depression stems from numerous factors beyond just heightened academic pressures. But they certainly render already painful situations even worse, regardless of whether or not they exist as the root cause.
  2. Stress ups the suicide rate…: Over in the UK, Oakgrove head teacher John Harkin told The Guardian that anywhere between 600 to 800 students between the ages of 15 and 24 commit suicide annually. A poll of 804 teachers revealed that 73% considered school (and life in general) far more stressful for students than in the previous decade, which more than likely contributes to the climbing suicide rate. Eighty-nine percent believed high-stakes classroom assignments and exams played a major (if not the premiere) role in nurturing anxiety.
  3. …oh, and self-harm, too: Beyond suicide, though, British students also cause self-harm in greater numbers than before, correlating with the increase in school and other life pressures. As reported by The Guardian, 46% of polled teachers claimed they knew of kids in middle and high school harming themselves. Cutting seems to be the most popular trend beneath this tragic umbrella, although anorexia — which, by the way, has little to do with simply wanting to “be skinny”— and other eating disorders appear on the rise as well.

(http://www.bachelorsdegreeonline.com/blog/2011/15-serious-facts-about-high-school-stress/)

 

The agency’s Stress in America survey found that 30 percent of teens reported feeling sad or depressed because of stress and 31 percent felt overwhelmed. Another 36 percent said that stress makes them tired and 23 percent said they’ve skipped meals because of it.

On average, teens reported their stress level was 5.8 on 10-point scale, compared with 5.1 for adults. (http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2013/12/02/246599742/school-stress-takes-a-toll-on-health-teens-and-parents-say)

And what do we do in order to change it… We do this. How is this going to help to reduce it? You’re going to make a tougher curriculum for even smaller children, so they could experience stress and depression at even younger stage? I know that we can’t play at school and we can’t fool around in there but don’t you think it’s a bit too much? I think that in order to change the situation we shouldn’t force kids to know what to do with their future and we definitely shouldn’t only focus on the results because right now it becomes more and more into result based. We’re not all geniuses and we can’t all manage this stuff, maybe this should be considered if we change the curriculum…

So here are some of my thoughts on the things, I hope you enjoyed, I hope it will make a change even though my blog isn’t very popular and I’ll talk to you soon.

Ann

