I know it’s way past Christmas but I saw the movie only last week and just got round to writing the review now…

The film is set in Russia 100 years ago. It is a great sequel to the previous Yolki movies and it definitely follows the interesting yet funny storyline. The film tells you about Christmas magic and how small things that happen in your life might change someone else’s life completely. Yolki 1914 is directed by Timur Bekmambentov and the prominent stars throughout the movies are Ivan Urgant and Sergey Svetlakov. Those two actors have been playing in all of the 4 movies.

The movie is about Christmas and how people celebrate it during WWI. You can see people’s hard life and struggles during Christmas time but also see their heroic acts to make their Christmas special. People realise the true importance of Christmas shortly after the church forbids Christmas trees. They work together in order to save the Christmas Spirit and help each other without even realising it.

The movie has a good storyline and great characters. I loved to see the story evolve, I felt like I was inside the story, not participating it but observing it like a ghost. I also liked the characters. Every character was funny but it didn’t come off cheesy, it seemed natural and was sincere. I also liked the music in the movie, it wasn’t anything special but it went very well with the rest of the movie.

There were a few things that bothered me though. I think that the movie was a bit predictable. The structure of the movie made the movie so similar to the previous ones. You also knew how the movie will end, it will have a huge plot twist which makes the movie end like all of the other ones and saves the Christmas. There was another thing which bothered me a bit. All of the previous movies were made in present and thus followed the same characters through different years but this time they brought everything 100 years back, wouldn’t it make sense to use different cast? I understand that those might be their ancestors but then it would have made sense to connect them with the other stories, which they didn’t.

All in all, I think that everyone should take a look at this movie. Yolki 1914 is one of those movies which you just have to watch each year. It’s one of those movies which would definitely get you into Christmas spirit and makes you believe in Christmas miracles. I think this will bring a smile to your face and will change all of your Christmas full of nice surprises.

