So I’m back with another health post. I thought I’m gonna make a little series in those health posts. So this series is called head to toe. The idea of it is to concentrate on each part of body for 2 weeks. I know 2 weeks is such a short time but summer is short too. Also from next week I shall start posting my regular numbers too (forgot to weigh in this week, sowwy).

So my first post is going to be about hair because recently my hair has been in a pretty bad condition. It has gotten a bit better since I got it cut and colored but it’s getting all damaged again.

From blonde to a redhead
From blonde to a redhead

So this is my first transformation but I wasn’t that happy with it and got it recolored a few months later.

11159958_813820068687031_4407094715662593606_n

This is what it later looked like. The red was a bit more purple and the blue is a bit bluer. I shall probably will get another huge change in Thursday, not sure yet.

But the point of this blog post isn’t to show off my hair but it is to educate you and myself on how to take care of hair. As of now I only use some random shampoos and no conditioner because I haven’t made friends with it. I think now it is the time.

So my first tips are kinda the same which I have been using but I kinda found a new thing to take into consideration when buying shampoos:

  • Don’t wash your hair daily. Try to wash it as little as possible because that way the natural oils in your hair will do the job of fixing your hair on their own.
  • Massage your scalp while washing your hair (with shampoo though) It will help to increase the circulation in your head and also is supposed to help against dandruff.
  • Use sulfate and silicone free shampoos.
  • If you use conditioner start from the tips of your hair and move on to the roots. If you want silkier hair then leave it on for a few minutes before rinsing it off.
  • Try to wash your hair with colder water. The logic behind it is the same with using heat products. Too hot water will just damage it. Using warmer water might be necessary sometimes though, use warm water when your hair is very dirty and needs more care than usual but if you do happen to use warm water then use cold water for your final rinse.

So this was about washing, now lets move on to drying your hair. When it comes to drying it you should consider the following:

  • Dry your hair carefully, don’t wring it if you use a towel and use heat protection and cool settings if you use any kinds of heat products.

Info: http://www.wikihow.com/Have-Great-Hair

Another site gives that kind of info about drying your hair properly:

  • First, let your hair dry naturally, about 70-80% of the way dry. Then, with your dryer on the coolest setting (don’t touch that hot setting!), blow your hair dry, keeping the dryer about 6-inches away from hair at all times and moving it around continuously.

Info: http://www.prevention.com/beauty/hair/healthiest-way-dry-your-hair

As we move on to coming your hair then the most important thing is not to comb it while it’s wet. Your hair isn’t as strong then and it breaks easily.

Another tip most of the sites give is that you should do somekind of special treatments to your hair from once in a while. Here are some ideas:

  • Apply a deep conditioning treatment. You can use deep conditioning treatments like egg oil, olive oil, argan oil, avocado oil or coconut oil.
  • You can also purchase a hair mask or hair cream and apply it.
  • Use a natural treatment like olive oil, mayonnaise and an egg or a soak in full-fat milk. Leave these treatments in for 2 to 3 hours and rinse them out thoroughly without applying shampoo or conditioner. You can do this once or twice per week, if you see good results.
  • Use a leave-in conditioner at least once a week. Leave-in conditioners penetrate deep into your hair cuticles to heal them more completely.
  • Try a spray leave in conditioner/ detangler after you shower. The conditioner will make your hair more pliable and manageable.

I would do it once a week and if it becomes too much then I would do it not as often. Just to take care of myself. I think most of you know how I am about hair and how much I love people with pretty hair so I think it’s time to start loving my hair as much too ❤

As you know a beautiful look comes usually down to good eating. So here are some foods you should eat to keep your hair fabulous 🙂

  • Essential fatty acids, especially omega-3 fatty acids, promote healthy skin, hair and nails. You should eat some of these foods, which are rich in omega-3, every day:
    • Salmon, tuna, mackerel, and other fatty fish
    • Flax seed oil
    • Walnuts, almonds, and milk
  • Vitamins B-6, B-12, and folic acid are also important to your hair. You can always take a multivitamin to get more of these nutrients, but you can also add foods rich in these vitamins to your diet.
    • Vitamin B-6: bananas, potatoes (both white and sweet) and spinach.
    • Vitamin B-12: meat, poultry, fish and dairy products.
    • Folic acid: citrus fruits, tomatoes, whole grain and fortified grain products, beans and lentils.
  • Protein also promotes healthy hair. Eat a daily serving of fish, chicken, eggs or soy.

Info: http://www.wikihow.com/Have-Great-Hair

